2021-22 marked 100 years of women in Canadian politics! On top of that, 2021 was a huge year in overall gains in political diversity in NL. We had several elections at ALL levels of government, in which Equal Voice NL played a major role. Ultimately, we saw the highest and most diverse representation of women and gender diverse individuals running in history, at all levels of government.

Additionally, it also marks 25 years in office for MP Yvonne Jones, who has served at municipal, provincial AND federal levels of public office. Yvonne happens to be the first:

  • First independent woman ever elected in NL politics;
  • First Inuit woman elected to House of Assembly;
  • First woman in Labrador ever elected to provincial politics;
  • First woman Minister of Fisheries in Eastern Canada;
  • First woman to lead the Liberal Party of NL

While Yvonne is a member of the Liberal party, she wants to celebrate 25 years by supporting ALL future women and gender diverse leaders in Newfoundland and Labrador, no matter what political party or level of government they are affiliated with. To say we are honoured to be chosen as a beneficiary of the opportunity is an understatement!

Opening Reception: 

  • Mix & mingle to the musical stylings of Harpist Gayle Tapper

Entertainment from:

  • Canada’s only Inuk classical recording artist, Deantha Edmunds
  • 2021 MusicNL Pop Artist of the Year Rachel Cousins
  • Legendary Comedian & Performer Sheila Williams
  • Regards from first woman Premier Kathy Dunderdale, first woman Finance Minister Joan Marie Aylward & Deputy Mayor of St. John’s, Sheilagh O’Leary.
  • Silent Auction

Thank you to the generous event sponsors…

Gold Sponsor: Williams Family Foundation
Silver Sponsors: Seafair Capital, Rio Tinto IOC, Tacora Resources & Avalon Laboratories
Bronze Sponsors: Nunacor, Bell Aliant, Government of NL, FONEMED